Reviews

IN SHADOWS

“Chandler McGrew (is) showing us how to scare the pants off readers with his latest paperback original…” – The Chicago Tribune

“…a born-to-be-a-TV-series story about a 13-year-old blind and deaf boy who can hear evil spirits, and a police officer who gets dragged back from Texas to his Maine roots by a force stronger than life.” – Chicago Tribune

“In Shadows is actually a finely woven tale of terror-and one of love as well.” – Fangoria

What starts out as a crime thriller quickly turns into a horror novel that is so scary, the audience will read IN SHADOWS with all the lights left on. Mandi’s son Pierce is a special child with a good heart, a strong sense of right and wrong and is the key to the mystery of Crowley’s curse. His choice to give up what he desires most so that others may live will bring tear to the eyes of the reader. This is horror fiction at its most chilling making Chandler McGrew a worthy successor to Stephen King. ~ Harriet Klausner

IN SHADOWS is my first book by McGrew, and I look forward to many more. A longtime fan of Dean Koontz and Robert R. McCammon, I enjoyed this story thoroughly and was sorry it had to end. Jake’s partner and the partner’s grandmother are lively additions to the cast, and the pivotal character of a young boy named Pierce will tug on your heartstrings from page one. A great read. www.freshfiction.com


THE DARKENING

“…cleverly written in a spiritual style that calls to mind Dean Koontz’s recent (and better) works… an exciting delight – a trip into realms some feared would never be explored again. ” – Thebestreviews.com 

“addictive…one part Rapture drama, one part Lovecraftian horror story, one part blood-soaked chase… a thrilling one-sit read.” – Publisher’s Weekly


NIGHT TERROR

“a spine-tingling blend of mystery, thriller, and a bit of the paranormal, where a surprise lurks around every corner.” – Old Book Barn Gazette

“In the small-town Maine that Stephen King has made famous, Chandler McGrew sets a new tale of terror.” – Forbes Book Club

“Suspense at its best” – Book Review Cafe

“…plays on the primal fears that cause most adults to lose sleep.  An author to watch and read.” – Denver Post

“Fans of Kay Hooper and Linda Howard will readily dig into this fantastic tale.” – Publishers Weekly


COLD HEART

“One hell of a suspense thriller” – www.screamtv.net

“A fast moving tale of suspense and bloody mayhem.” – Lewiston Sun Journal

“Incredible tension and suspense… get a copy soon.” – Mystery News

“‘A fast paced thriller!” – www.fiatgirl.com

“‘One of the most terrifying villains since Hannibal Lecter.!” – www.allreaders.com

“‘An engrossing reading experience.” – Midwest Book Review

“‘Exciting and captivating” –  Oxford Hills Advertiser Democrat

“‘The best opening 10 pages I’ve read this year…reads like a good martini tastes: icy cold, with flecks of terror where the ice chips should be.” – Contra Costa Times

“A tense and satisfying read.” – I Love a Mystery Newsletter